The European Union

The European Union is a union of 28 member states in Europe. EuroCOP cooperates with practically all institutions of the EU including the European Commission, The Council of Ministers and the European Parliament.

The member state holding the six month EU Presidency also leads the EU’s policy direction of the period. Therefore EuroCOP like to stay in close contact with the member state holding the Presidency.

EuroCOP also holds good relationships with the Commission’s Directorate-General for Migration and Home Affairs (DG HOME) of the European Commission. The Directorate’s task, among others, is to ensure that the European Union provides its citizens with an area of freedom, security and justice. It deals with EU legislation on terrorism, organised crime and police cooperation (EuroCOP position papers). The Commission makes legislative proposals to the Council and then the Justice and Home Affairs Council has the power to decide matters in regard to police cooperation. Similarly, EuroCOP is in regular contact with the Directorate-General for Employment, Social Affairs & Inclusion (DG EMPL) regarding the working conditions and social rights of police officers.

See EuroCOP position Paper

EuroCOP also regularly meets with Members of the European Parliament and contributes to the discussions and ongoing work of the Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs (“LIBE”) Committee on security related topics and the Employment and Social Affairs (“EMPL”) Committee on topics related to working conditions and social rights.